Abraham Hicks

I am going to fess up to some embarrassing stuff.

I love self help books.

When I was a teenager I would read “How To Win Friends And Influence People” by Dale Carnegie, “The Power of Positive Thinking” by Norman Vincent Peale, “The Magic Of Thinking Big” by David Schwartz.

Multiply by 100 since.

“The Secret” by Rhonda Byrne gave the industry a shot in the arm.

But Waterstones always had a thriving Mind, Body and Spirit section. I had a Goodreads group in tribute to that, and it was damn good, till a stalker with no life using a false name scuppered it. It is still there though, just spammed to perdition in my absence.

Back to Abe, yes, Esther and Jerry Hicks, the spokesfolks for that complex Galactic entity were in the cut for the original Secret DVD then booted. Too radical.

I read all the books, loved them. Of course, I don’t know if there is an Abe that chats to/through Esther. How could I know? Sounds crazy, right? Her voice goes a bit Eastern European. I am suggestible, gullible yet cynical. What an annoying combination. Right, everyone who knows me?

So, very early in my “career” of attending Meetups I find a “Law of Attraction” (not dating folks, it is about Attracting good things in general, which may include romance) group in driving distance in Harold Wood.

I suppose I get a bit obsessed with things, I attended like the Rain Man with regards to Aspergian knowledge of all things Abe, the lady host was 100% crazy-enthusiastic about the same, most of the rest just seemed to think it was about positive thinking with some meditation and EFT, all of that is good, ish, okay maybe not EFT, but I was predictably too hardcore.

Each time we had to share experiences and manifestations, I had loads, but not sure they believed me! Why would I lie?

Other people’s lives if anything seemed to be getting worse, but it could be framed as leaving “toxic” people (via divorce and redundancy). Well, maybe. Sometimes things get worse before they get better.

One week I told a literally amazing manifestation story centred on testosterone and Power Poses (see future blog post. Oh, maybe you can’t if still future. In which case see my Time Travel blog post instead). I think the hostess was freaked by mention of testosterone. Come on, it is just a hormone!

In a nutshell, the Abraham spirits say you create with your thoughts, or more accurately feelings, so frame things positively and find ways to feel good about the situation and you will attract more good things. And feel good. Mumbo jumbo or not, that is a great belief system.

My literal favourite book ever (even including the genius of Robert Anton Wilson) “Excuse Me, Your Life Is Waiting” by Lynn Grabhorn (such a funny and likeable writer even though demons of some kind or another made her suicide) is Abe-inspired.

Another meeting I honestly shared how I had gone out of body during the guided mediation and travelled to a park nearby where the group were all witches dressed in black hooded cloaks instead. Why did that freak them out?

Is anyone still reading down to here? It is all true. That’s what worries me.

The week following the original testosterone manifestation I was involved in an Energy-squared “battle” with the universe as part of Chelmsford Book Club, where I had to find a “big sign” from the universe. Walking to that club, needing a bike at the time, I saw one for sale at the roadside, I was admittedly high on LCHF food. I noticed it was advertised by an oversized wooden sign nailed to a tree. The big sign! Funny, but not good enough, universe. Next door there were some syringes in a plastic bag with a label lying on the ground in the garden. I took a peek, wondering what might be in them. The syringes were of… testosterone. (Justifiable expletive censored)

5 thoughts on “Abraham Hicks

  1. This made me chuckle! Your blog looks really interesting so I’ll be subbing. I never really took to LoA, predominantly because it just seemed to be a regurgitation of the self help of the early 1900s, just wrapped up in glossy, materialistic packaging to appeal to the masses. I don’t doubt the techniques work though, having recently had some wonderful success following Florence Scovel Shinn’s techniques set out in The Power of the Spoken Word.

    Anyway looking forward to reading more of your thoughts on The Qabalah.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

